Joe 2, TPL nil

  1. Five years ago TPL management put the screws on Jones branch to stop me from filing interlibrary-loan requests. I wrote in and stated I would not refrain from using a service everyone else could use. Interloans head Eva Lew wrote back to me (letter, 2007.06.06):

    I would like to reassure you that we welcome frequent users of the interlibrary-loan service…. We are used to dealing with a high volume of interlibrary-loan requests; many of our frequent customers are researchers…. I encourage your continued use of our interlibrary-loan service.

  2. Last month TPL management put the screws on Jones branch to stop me from filing suggested-title forms. I wrote in and stated I would not refrain from using a service everyone else could use. Director of collections management Vickery Bowles wrote back to me (letter, 2012.08.07):

    I want to assure you we welcome suggestions from you and other members of the public. As you mention in your letter, we have acquired most of the titles you have suggested for purchase. In the future, we will continue to do so as long as the suggested titles are available to purchase and they fit with the Library’s collections…. [Y]ou will continue to complete the blue suggestion forms and submit them… through your local branch. Thank you for using this process[;] we plan to have an online form available for you and other members of the public.

