How much of a bargain is the library?

Last year, I paid about five bucks in late fines. But using the library saved me about six grand. How do I know?

I tallied up the retail prices, as listed at Amazon, for all the 281 books I read last year: $6,044. Take away a small chunk for books I actually bought and the number hovers around $6,000. (I count even the books I didn’t really crack open; if I’d bought them and hadn’t cracked them open, I would still have paid.) That’s in U.S. dollars, but for simplicity let’s just imagine that our dollar and theirs are at par.

The dollar total doesn’t include dozens of magazines (some, like Eye, retail for about $34 a copy), dozens of DVDs, and a few compact discs. In fact, I barely every buy magazines anymore; it’s the end of a lifelong habit that I don’t particularly miss, since online sources and library borrowing fill in the gaps adequately.

There’s an effect of scale, too: TPL is so large and has such a wide collection that you are very likely to find the item you want.

Now, there are non-monetary costs involved, chiefly transportation (schlepping to and from library branches, sometimes with 15 pounds of books at a time) and waiting around for books I could otherwise own instantly. Some items are unfinished because I just can’t read them fast enough. Some are in poor shape. About 30 books a year I can’t get by any free method, including interlibrary loan. I don’t get to keep anything, though I can and do make copies and take pictures.

And I read many items because they were free at the library; I wouldn’t have bought all of them, or even most of them. So the cost saving is actually a cost comparison between free library books and buying those same books.

But no matter how you, or I, cut it, using the library is the steal of the century.

(How did I tally up the prices? One place I catalogue my books is in Delicious Library, a somewhat feature-poor but visually pleasing Macintosh application. You can export the details of your collection and, with difficulty, sort through the rubble to find and add up Amazon list prices.)

5 thoughts on “How much of a bargain is the library?

  1. Hey Joe, nice post! There are also many other nice free things you can enjoy or benefit from at the library – including:

    1) Arts programming – Author readings, exhibits, etc. all-year long. These include the upcoming Keep Toronto Reading month-long literary festival in April (keeptorontoreading.ca) and the brand new The Eh List author series (http://www.torontopubliclibrary.ca/pro_eh_list.jsp)

    2) The library provides newcomers and established Torontonians with job search and career support. We recently pulled together a new Job Site to further support this audience: http://programs.torontopubliclibrary.ca/listings/jobhelp/

    3) There’s also our Sun Life Financial Museum + Arts Pass, which families can borrow for free at all 99 branches tovisit great cultural institutions such as the AGO, Ontario Science Centre, ROM and more. http://www.torontopubliclibrary.ca/spe_ser_museum_arts_pass.jsp

    There is lots lots more – including, of course, free Internet access (and free wifi at many library branches).

  2. Would you really have bought all those books? I think the real take-away here is that without the library, you wouldn’t have read (almost any) of those books at all.

  3. I can’t even begin to tell you how awesome it is to read stuff like this. I’m glad you’re getting so much out of your local library!

    Leigh Anne
    part of the madcap librarian crew at Eleventh Stack

Comments are closed.